174When I start to think about what to write, my mind either goes blank OR spins with the possibilities, which is really no better. So here we are at post #3, and I have now procrastinated to the point of having to write every day. No surprise there. 😉

I think today is going to be about sharing my smiles.  One day my friend Reg (A writer, among other things. Her blog Peering Into Fog Making Sense of My Mother’s Alzheimer’s may be of interest to some of you.) called up and left me a message. It started with, “I wanted to give you today’s Bliss Report.” It was merely one more reason to love her. Since then, we somewhat regularly call each other with our Bliss Report. It makes having her so far away easier. Good friends are such a blessing, aren’t they? 

Here’s today’s Bliss Report for you:

I am finding my voice. On new levels. Thanks to the fabulous support from ALL of you! Every day I feel less like a fraud. Know myself better. Trust myself more. Turning 40 was good. (For some strange reason I always knew it would be.) Turning 45 was even better. The next five years are going to be amazing!

I have many reasons to smile today. But what really has me jazzed this morning (and most times) is KCCC Massage. Two years ago in January, Knox County Career Center had the courage (Ha. My word. They might say foresight.) to hire me as Coordinator of the Massage Therapy Program.  Part of me knew I could do the job. I had been involved in massage therapy education since 2002; as a student, a janitor, an admissions coordinator, community ed teacher, assistant instructor, lead instructor, clinic manager, program assistant coordinator.

One of my mentors and role models, Kim Fischer (Empowered By Learning) had recommended me for the position. Mary McCabe had to call four times before I could finally tell her that I had submitted my application. I just wasn’t sure I wanted the position. My last experience in a similar role had not been great. Quite challenging in fact. In so many ways. For so many reasons…. mostly the lessons and growth of course.  But my foundation was solid. I had gone to one of the best schools and had many years of working there. That’s why I returned there when invited. But then there was this OPPORTUNITY. One of my favorite words.

It really boiled down to the facts: I was being given an opportunity to work with a solid program with an excellent reputation. An opportunity to work with incredibly respectful, compassionate professionals in every space on the org chart. An opportunity to build and grow the program, to actually DO what my colleagues and I had been talking about for years. To still ‘keep my hands’ in the classroom, teaching students the courses I love. To begin to teach the teachers how to teach. To put my ‘touch’ on the entire educational experience for our future massage therapists.

Once all that sunk in, it was easy. Can’t pass it up.

258

And so here we are. Two years have gone so fast. We have an amazing team of faculty and staff. Our current ‘crop’ of students are blossoming beautifully! (And a few are starting their own blogs. Fun!)

To get here I have had to give up many things. Sacrifices. We all make them. My family has had to adjust to the tie and energy my other roles take, and I am grateful they understand.  One of the things I surrendered was creating art, although I did discover Instagram last year.  As there was clearly becoming a shift, a dear friend asked me what type of art I was going to create next.  Now I can answer. KCCC Massage. This is it. My current baby. My latest creation.  It is certainly not mine alone. This is a gift of the Universe. For the Universe. 

Thanks to each of you for your leadership & willingness to follow, your support & inspiration.

Be Love, Diane 

PS. What’s YOUR Bliss Report?


